Awk-Weird by Avery Flynn ☆☆☆☆

awAwk-Weird  by Avery Flynn ☆☆☆☆

OK, this was a total cover buy. I saw it in the bookstore last week and the bright teal cover with the animated people on it totally got me. I’m not usually a sucker for these new animated covers, but this time I was. (Is this where I confess the cover to 99 Percent Mine by Sally Thorne bothers me a lot? The animated people don’t have noses on that cover!! Go look at it! No noses!!! So creepy to me.)

Awk-Weird is a romantic comedy that follows Tess, who is amazingly awkward and spouts trivia when she feels out of place (which is always), and Cole, who is a hockey player that also has a love of trivia. Tess and Cole have a one-night-stand at a wedding, but oops, she’s pregnant. Cole is a very ordered and regimented person – he has a solid routine and doesn’t let anything make him deviate from it. He eats the same thing, does the same things in the same order every day, and his house is immaculate. Oh, and he is in love with his on-again-off-again girlfriend, so he doesn’t have a ton of space in his life for Tess and a baby.

By some turn of events, Tess is forced to stay with Cole while her apartment is being fixed up and of course their attraction is hard to ignore. Tess messes with Cole’s orderly world, and it’s fun to see how both characters react to the other’s personality quirks. Tess has a lot of abandonment issues, and their shared delusion that their situation is temporary (you’re having a BABY together, that’s at LEAST an 18-year attachment) is both hilarious and hard to watch.

I found Awk-Weird to be a solid romcom with a couple that had amazing chemistry. It works fine as a standalone (it’s #2 in a series) but I will definitely be going back to read book 1.

Leave a comment